Gluten-Free Bread!

Tonight I baked my first loaf of gluten-free (GF) bread!  I think it turned out beautifully, although I have yet to taste it, since it’s still cooling.  AND it was SUPER easy!!  No kneading necessary, actually.  Working with yeast is not hard or complicated like I always thought it was.

I also got this recipe from the Gluten Free Homemaker, just like the pizza crust (really foccacia bread) recipe.  Below are the ingredients and my modifications:

1 1/3 cups sorghum flour

2/3 cups brown sweet rice flour (just regular brown rice flour)

1 cup tapioca starch flour (basically the same thing)

1 Tablespoon yeast – I used instant yeast

2 teaspoons xanthan gum

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon sugar – I used coconut (palm) sugar

1 cup water – 110 degrees

4 eggs

1/4 cup oil – I used mild olive oil

1 teaspoon vinegar – I used apple cider vinegar

The instructions are easy: combine the dry ingredients, combine the wet ingredients and then combine with the dry.  I beat it for about 3 minutes with an electric mixer and then let it rise for 30 minutes in a buttered loaf pan.  The original recipe calls for it to bake in a bread machine for 55 minutes at 336 degrees, but since I don’t have one, I baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes.  Done!  :)

Here’s the dough in the pan

Lovely golden-brown on the top…will have a slice as a snack tonight with my favorite cinnamon-flavored agave syrup!  (Agave is a great choice as a sweetener because it is low on the glycemic index and doesn’t make your blood sugar spike.)

One thought on “Gluten-Free Bread!

  1. Pingback: Results of my Gluten-Free Experiment | Engaged to the Army

Let me know your thoughts! :)

