Savory Sundays – Perfect GF Chocolate Cake

Since being gluten-free, I’ve had to be a bit more creative and make time to do more baking.  Since my week days have been jam-packed, the only time I normally have to bake are the weekends (and even those are crazy!).  Last weekend I made a GF chocolate cake for “The Birthdays” celebration of my brother and sister.  Their birthdays were mid-week but we decided to do a Sunday celebration with the relatives.  My mom made a beautiful pound cake complete with whipped cream and sugar-soaked strawberries, so I made a cake basically for myself. :P  I found this recipe from The Gluten-Free Homemaker.

Combine these ingredients in a large bowl (I use a metal whisk for dry ingredients):

1 1/4 cup rice flour – I use brown rice flour

1/2 cup potato starch

1/4 cup tapioca starch

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa flour

2 tsp. xanthan gum – I use Ener-G brand

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking soda

1 TB. cinnamon

In a medium-sized bowl, beat together with an electric mixer (or by hand, if you want a work-out!):

1 2/3 cup sugar – normally I’d use coconut sugar since I’m trying to stay away from refined cane sugar, but this was so much sugar that I just used organic cane sugar (coconut sugar is expensive, but I’m sure it would work just as well)

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 – 2 tsp. almond extract – next time I’d use just 1 1/2 tsp. because 2 tsp. was a little strong

Then beat in 1 cup mayo – I used Hain Pure Foods Safflower Mayonnaise

Then alternate adding the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients with 1 cup (minus 2 TB.) of water.  Pour the batter into a buttered or oiled (I used coconut oil) 9″x13″ pan and bake for 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees F.

It came out perfectly!  It was SO moist and delicious.  Just make sure to put it in a container right away after it’s completely cool.  I let it sit out overnight (I baked it right before I went to bed) and it was a bit dry the next day.  However, this is DEFINITELY a keeper of a recipe and very easy!

Beautiful!! :)

You’d never guess it was gluten-free! :)  Now I just have to find a healthy, dairy-free frosting.

One thought on “Savory Sundays – Perfect GF Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: Results of my Gluten-Free Experiment | Engaged to the Army

Let me know your thoughts! :)

