Body for Life – Day 6

I have found my weak spot in the Upper Body region: my shoulders.

Shoulder exercises were the bane of my workout this evening. As I have before, I brought my Daily Fitness Assessment to the gym and took careful notes on the exercises performed and with which weights. In the Chest category, I did Dumbbell Flyes and Barbell Bench Press…the weights were not too heavy, and I could have managed heavier ones (only worked up to 12.5 lbs. each arm). However, my mid-spine area began hurting as I did the Flyes, so that was a bit concerning. Perhaps I was not performing them correctly, but I also was having back pain earlier in the day so it was probably just muscle spasms.

I pushed on with the Back category, doing One-Arm Dumbbell Rows (way too easy…more weight next time) and Dumbbell Pullovers. The awful Shoulders were next. I first did Side Raises, and I felt so pathetic! I was actually getting mad at myself as I did them. I started off easy, with 5 lbs. each arm and 12 reps (which BFL says to do…don’t start out too gung-ho, you will eventually work up to a lot of weight)…I thought, “Okay I’ve got this, gonna be another easy one.” Not so fast! For the 10 reps set, I did 7.5 lbs. per arm, and that is when I began suffering. Next was 8 reps with 10 lbs. each, and I could not raise my arms to my chin like the book instructed. Gotta keep going…so I did 6 reps with 12.5 lbs. each, and that was an absolute fail. I even wrote that on my sheet: FAIL! For the last rep set you go down a weight (so to 10 lbs.) and do it 12 times, and by the end I could barely lift my arms. Argh!! Then I did the Seated Dumbbell Press for 12 reps at 10 lbs. each arm, and that was super hard by rep 11. So….shoulders are the place I desperately need to improve upon!

Biceps and Triceps were next, and I’d say I got to an 8 Intensity Level with Biceps (Seated Dumbbell Curls and Hammer Curls). With the Triceps, I really “hurt good” and almost “embraced the suck” but I would not rate it as a 10 Intensity Level yet (Dumbbell Extensions and Bench Dips). My workout lasted about 45 minutes, the recommended time in the BFL book.

I had another one of those Myoplex prepackaged protein shakes (French Vanilla flavor), which I really love but are quite expensive ($10 for 4). I need to find the protein powder form because it’s probably cheaper…might have to order it online. Or, I could do some comparison shopping and see what other protein powder formulas are close to Myoplex but cost less. (Gotta think of the budget here!)

Tomorrow after church I will run around my neighborhood for Aerobics day. Then my sister and I might go look at wedding gowns and bridesmaid dresses. :)

Have a wonderful and blessed weekend everyone!

~Malori~

Let me know your thoughts! :)

