Body for Life: Days 17, 18, and 19

So as mentioned in my last post, I had to do some modifying to the Body for Life program. Yesterday (Friday, Jan. 20) I did 2 workouts in one day: Aerobics (running for 20 minutes) and Lower Body Weights. It was a challenge, but I’ve found that a huge part of working out (or doing anything, really) is mental. If you aren’t strong mentally, then you can’t be strong physically. That’s not to say JUST because you think something, it’s gonna happen…but rather, your mind and heart have to be in it before your body is. If you tell yourself you can’t, you probably won’t, because you have no gumption.

So yesterday evening I had to tell myself, “I MUST do this!” Overall, the workout was a challenge, especially since I was literally “running” on 4 hours of sleep. I ran for 20 minutes and then did weights. I started off with abs, and the Bent Knee Leg Raises felt awesome…my tummy was a little sore today! Then I went on to do Quads, Hamstrings, and Calves. I won’t go into detail on each exercise, but my notes included things like “a challenge,” “very sore,” “couldn’t pull up my legs all the way, calf muscle was almost pulled” (on Lying Leg Curl machine), and “good hurt/strain!” (Calf Press on Leg Press Machine).

I then went home to work on a marketing campaign (an extra side-job), and *drum roll* I worked on it until 6:00 AM. Talk about mental strength!! I seriously wanted to hit the sack but I couldn’t. I had NO idea it would take that long, and even then I did not finish it (I ran out of materials, so I’ll have to get more from the company). I had to mail the pieces today, so I couldn’t sleep in too late…so I ended up getting about 4 1/2 hours of sleep. The post office trip took 2 hours (since it was an international mailing) and then I got to conference call Skype with The Warrior, his brother, their cousins, and their mom. It was awesome to see all them (especially my man :) ) and then I took a 2 hour nap before heading to the gym for a Upper Body Weight workout! :) I have to say that my mind was not as “in” the workout as in the past…I think because the past couple days have been physically exhausting due to lack of sleep. But I had to do it!! The Wide-Grip Lat Pull-Downs were a “real challenge,” and the Seated Dumbbell Press was a HUGE challenge…again, working the shoulders, my weakest upper body area.

Tomorrow, Sunday (usually a Free Day) will be Day 20 with Aerobics. I will probably go for a run outside, after church, because it is supposed to be GORGEOUS again, a spring-like 72 degrees! :)

~Malori~

Let me know your thoughts! :)

