Gluten-Free Pizza: My First Attempt!

Today for dinner, my mom was making pizza.  Of course, the wheat flour contains gluten, so I had to either eat something entirely different or create a gluten-free (GF) version.  On Sunday I got a bunch of GF baking/cooking products, so this was the perfect time to try them out!

One GF blog I found is the Gluten Free Homemaker and I decided to use her Focaccia Bread recipe for the pizza crust.  The ingredients are as follows, with some of my own tweaking:

1 1/3 cups brown rice flour

2/3 cups sweet rice flour  I used 2/3 cups of sweet white sorghum flour

1 cup tapioca flour

1 Tablespoon instant yeast

2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin

1 Tablespoon xanthan gum I completely forgot to put this in!!  However, it still turned out great.  Xanthan gum is a binder, but it must have turned out okay b/c there was also gelatin and eggs (other binders).

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons sugar – I used coconut (palm) sugar

1 cup warm water (110 degrees)

4 eggs

1/4 cup vegetable oil I substituted 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil (better for you!)

1 teaspoon vinegar – I used apple cider vinegar

Basically you mix the wet ingredients together, then the dry ingredients together…add the dry ingredients to the wet and beat with a mixer for 2 minutes.  I did not need to add more water, and the consistency was a little thicker than cake batter.  I buttered a cookie sheet, poured in the batter, and let it rise for 30 minutes.  Now, of course, since there is no gluten it won’t rise like a wheat-based creation.  But there were yeast bubbles, which meant it was working!  I then baked it halfway at 425 degrees F for about 7 minutes, took it out and added marinara sauce, romano cheese (this is cheese made from sheep’s milk…I am able to tolerate and process this instead of cow’s milk), all-natural pepperoni (no nitrates), and frozen green peppers.  I slid it back in to finish baking for about another 7-8 minutes, until the edges were browned and firm.  And guess what: it was DELICIOUS!!  It had a VERY slightly different consistency than wheat pizza, and the taste was slightly different…but it was basically the same!  I loved it, and I have a BUNCH left since I was the only one eating it!  Yummy lunches are ahead! :)

All the ingredients I used except water heating on the stove and I forgot to use the xanthan gum.

The finished product!  Note about the romano (sheep) cheese.  The make-up of the lactose in sheep’s (and goat’s) milk is different than from cows, and many people with lactose intolerance to cow’s milk CAN tolerate these other milks.  Works for me, yay!

Inside of the pizza dough….very cool! :)

One thought on “Gluten-Free Pizza: My First Attempt!

  1. Pingback: Results of my Gluten-Free Experiment | Engaged to the Army

Let me know your thoughts! :)

