Milspouse Friday Fill-In #1

I found a couple new military wife blogs that I like!  One is called Stetsons, Spurs and Stilettos (cute!) and Wife of a Sailor.  The latter has a monthly meme called “Milspouse Friday Fill-In,” in which the first Friday of every month she will post a series of questions for other military spouses/significant others to “fill in.”  She hasn’t done one for August, but I decided to get started and answer questions she posted for July:

1. What’s one thing in the past month you would’ve changed?

If I had super-powers, I would’ve prevented myself from getting a nail stuck in my tire and spending money ($22) to get it patched, in July.  It’s about the third time this has happened to that tire in less than a year!!

2. What was your favorite thing that happened in July?

Seeing The Warrior after being apart for a month!  Also (if I can add a second favorite thing) my two cousins from Florida, Jessica and Justine and Justine’s baby came to visit for a long weekend!  I hadn’t seen Justine (who is my age) for almost 9 years!!

3. What did you do to celebrate Independence Day?

I hung out with my family: went to Mass and a community parade in the morning with my dad, came back and baked/cooked in the kitchen, ate delicious food, took a nap, and then saw fireworks at night.  It was a wonderful day except for me and The Warrior being apart.

4. When you PCS, what items do you take with you and not let the movers pack (and if you do a DITY, what do you take with you and not box up)?

Well, seeing as I’m not married yet I haven’t had the opportunity to PCS yet!  The Warrior says he wants to do DITY moves, so I imagine that I wouldn’t box up things like important documents, an overnight bag/change of clothes for traveling, snacks, camera, cell phone….basically all the type of stuff I’d want with me on a road trip!

5. What are you looking forward to in August?

The biggest event I looked forward to this month was The Warrior’s birthday!  We had a fabulous time together.  I took him to P.F. Chang’s, one of his favorites, and I clandestinely went up to the hostess desk to see if they could get the waiter’s attention and tell him it was The Warrior’s birthday.  Fortunately for me, the manager happened to be standing there by the desk, and I said, “I need to ask a favor: it’s my fiance’s birthday and I was wondering if you could have our waiter bring out a dessert.”  The manager said, “Well, does he like chocolate?” and I answered yes.  I also just had to add, in the hopes that they would add some kind of special touch to the dessert, that “He also just got back from Afghanistan.”  The manager assured me, “I will personally see to it and we’ll do something really special.”  I beamed at him and said, “Thanks so much!  Our table is right there.”  The Warrior was mere feet away but his back was to us and the restaurant was noisy, so he had no idea.  I sat back down, feeling very sneaky, and our main dishes were soon brought out.  About halfway through, the manager stopped by our desk with two large glasses of red wine, to our great surprise.  He explained what type of wine it was (sounded very fancy) and made sure our meal tasted good.  We looked at each other like, Huh, that’s nice.  At the end of the meal, The Warrior said, “Are you ready for some dessert?” and I said, “Yeah, sure.”  The waiter came to box up our leftovers and The Warrior mentioned wanting some dessert.  The waiter replied, “I hear it is your birthday” and The Warrior, just slightly surprised, answered, “Yes it is.”  In a few minutes, our waiter came out with THE BIGGEST piece of chocolate cake I’d ever seen, called “The Great Wall of Chocolate.”  It was surrounded by dark raspberry sauce and garnished with mint leaves and berries.  The waiter lit a single candle and presented it.  Then, he put the tab down on the table and said, “Your bill has been taken care of.”  I was floored!  I did NOT expect this when the manager said he would do something “special”!  The Warrior looked across the table at me with a look of disbelief that I’ll never forget: “Our meal is paid for??”  I looked at him coyly and responded, “Well I guess that’s what you get when I mention you just got back from Afghanistan.”  The bill was almost $50, not counting the two glasses of wine….I have a feeling that the manager was either in the military himself at one point or has a loved one currently serving.  That gift was priceless. :)

 

The Warrior about to tackle the Great Wall of Chocolate

Let me know your thoughts! :)

