Military Mondays: February Resources

This week, I wanted to share a few resources that I like and find helpful.  I definitely am still in the “green” stage of the military life, and I get my hands on every resource I possibly can!  First of all, I’d like to recommend a book I am currently reading.  I’m reading it as part of my self-imposed career development, and it is called Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job and Your Dream Job by Jon Acuff.  Once I finish it, I will write a review of it, with my own thoughts interwoven with it…but for now, I would just like to say this book is AMAZING.  It has helped me to think both critically and creatively about where I would like my career to go.  As a future Army wife, I know that The Warrior and I will move around many times before his tenure is over.  We could even go overseas!  So I felt that it was crucial to start NOW in figuring out “what do I want to do when I grow up?” besides being a wife and mom.  Jon Acuff is releasing another book in April called Start: Punch Fear in the Face, Escape Average, Do Work That Matters, and I have it pre-ordered.  Visit Jon’s website at http://www.jonacuff.com/blog for more information!  We military spouses can really benefit from his inspiration.

A specifically military-spouse resource I’d like to recommend is BaseGuide.com, an off-shoot of Military Spouse Magazine.  Today on Twitter I found a link to THIS article, entitled “Spouses on the Job Hunt – Job Portability Concerns.”  This article quotes some programs that only military wives and husbands can take advantage of, like MyCAA and Military Spouse Preference (MSP).  However, don’t tie yourself down to just those things.  If you read Quitter, you will start to realize that your dream job IS possible, even while living as a vagabond – I mean, Army wife. ; )

This week, my February post for the Army Wife Network blog went live, entitled “Everyday Angels.”  I love writing about real-life stories, because they come straight from my heart into words.  It’s these types of posts where I feel most vulnerable, because oftentimes I am baring my soul…but I know that many other Army wives, fiancees, and girlfriends can completely relate to these raw emotions.  http://lovingasoldier.com/everyday-angels/

My new goal for social media is to start tweeting more…as in, at least once a day with an interesting, relevant article, website, or personal thought.  So even if I can’t blog every day, there will be a tweet from me every day!  For all you Twitterers out there, you can follow me @ArmyFiancee14

Finally, Happy Presidents’ Day!  Can you name a president that was also in the military?  Here is my favorite: General George Washington!  Leave a comment with yours!

~Malori~

Let me know your thoughts! :)

