Financial Fridays: 5 Ways to Stay Motivated

Sometimes we all need a shot in the arm or a boost to keep us going in our personal finance journey. It doesn’t take huge creativity or a lot of money to do this effectively. Below I’ve listed 5 things that are helpful in keeping oneself motivated:

1) Talk about your dreams and goals with your spouse. Hopefully he already knows or at least has an idea of what these are – if not, please share with him! The reason I put this one first is because spouses (including engaged and seriously dating couples) need to be on the same page and be supportive of each other’s goals and dreams. I find that when The Warrior encourages me with my writing, for example, I feel like I can really be awesome at it! I adore his confidence in me, and it gives me more confidence in myself.

2) Read an informative, motivational book about finances or career development. Two books that I personally love and highly recommend are Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey and Quitter by Jon Acuff.

3) Write out all your past victories. It is easy to get bogged down in the moment: I have a lot of car repairs, I have to pay the IRS, and I’m bored at my job, we might think. I feel like I’m not getting anywhere. *pouty face* But there are always positives – think about that credit card you paid off and cut up last year and your debt-free car! If you’ve won at a few things, you can have more wins in the near future!

4) Listen to Dave Ramsey podcasts or the live radio show. This is what I do when I’m doing mindless data entry. Dave is informative and entertaining, and I always feel good about myself after listening to him!

5) Attend a motivational seminar. And you don’t have to plunk down a huge chunk of cash for something like this either. This morning I went to my first “5 Club” meeting. This is something that Jon Acuff and Dave Ramsey developed, and it’s a meeting that happens at 5 in the morning! (Crazy, i know.) Jon was in Dallas for a blogger conference and conducted a 5 Club free of charge, and it was AWESOME and totally worth it! Even at almost 11pm, I am still pumped from it and am looking forward to sharing what I learned about social media/personal marketing in my future posts!

Keep on fighting the good fight. We can win the war against debt!

~Malori~

20130322-225832.jpg

Let me know your thoughts! :)

