Military Mondays: Our Story, Part I

Last Sunday, March 24th, was the 3 year anniversary of when The Warrior and I first “met.”  I say it that way because “meeting” was me finding The Warrior’s profile on a dating website and sending him a message.  But there is SO much more to the story than just that fact.  So for the next few Military Mondays, I wanted to share our military love story.

 

Perhaps I need to open myself up to other methods of meeting people, such as a good online Catholic dating website.  We shall see.  I feel like I’m really at that “marriageable age,” that I really want to start my own family.  And as silly as this sounds, I don’t want to move from home to my own apartment, and then get married and move again.  I also wonder if I’ll stay in Texas…

~Journal entry, February 8, 2010

“Malori, you should check out a Catholic singles site!  These things really aren’t what you think they are.”

I was chatting on Facebook one January evening in 2010 with one of my best friends, Margaret.  She was glowing with excitement over meeting a wonderful young man on eHarmony.com and they were having their first date soon.  (They are now married.)

“Yeah, yeah…I dunno, it’s sketchy!” I replied, although perhaps that was an insulting thing to say to her.  However, she was too excited about meeting this guy to care about what I had just said.

“Well, just pray about it.  You might change your mind.”

“Yeah okay, whatever…I’ll pray about it.”  What she did not know is that about a year ago, I had joined a reputable website called AveMariaSingles.com.  On March 24, 2009, the website founder, Anthony Buono, wrote an article for the Catholic News Agency online entitled “What Singles Can Learn from St. Joseph.”  I was very inspired by his article, and from that day forward I began praying intensely for my future husband by reciting the St. Joseph Litany every day.  That article is how I discovered AMS, and I thought it wouldn’t hurt to join, especially since I could take advantage of the cheap student price!  However, later in the spring, I made my account inactive so no one could see my profile.  It didn’t seem like the right time, and since I was moving back to Texas after college graduation in Maryland, I figured I would meet a nice Catholic boy in real life, like a normal person.  After all, I wasn’t SO desperate for a husband that I needed to stalk men online!

Margaret had planted a seed, and perhaps it wasn’t exactly sketchy…but is it really for me? I questioned.  Whenever we talked, Margaret would ask me, “So have you joined a Catholic singles site yet?”

“No, not yet…I’m still praying about it,” I’d answer, which was the truth.  I wrestled with this subject for an intense month.

When I’d journal and pray, I would feel peaceful about rejoining AMS.  Yes, I would do it!  Then I would sit down at my computer after coming home from work, type in AveMariaSingles.com, go to my account…and suddenly be gripped with fear.  I went back and forth with the peace vs. fear factors.  I was afraid of the unknown.  But I also kept praying for my future husband.  I knew he was out there somewhere, but I had no idea when or how I might meet him.  On Valentine’s Day, I wrote:

Lord, my special intention this Valentine’s Day is that my future husband is blessed and that we may find each other soon!

Finally, during the last week of February, I embraced the courage that God had given me and began re-writing my profile.  I took my time to carefully type everything and upload a new photo, and on Wednesday, February 24, I went live!

Little did I know that I would be blessed beyond measure exactly one month later.

~Malori~

Check back next Monday for the next installment!

3 thoughts on “Military Mondays: Our Story, Part I

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever told you this but Karl found me on Myspace WAY back in the day when I had interned with the Winston-Salem Symphony and the rest is history. Online is the new normal! ;)

  2. Pingback: Military Mondays: Our Story, Part II | Engaged to the Army

Let me know your thoughts! :)

