Financial Fridays: Beauty on a Budget

Being a woman CAN be expensive.  But it doesn’t HAVE to be!  If you shop at Ulta, Macy’s, or any specialty store, we can run up quite a bill on make-up alone!  But you can look beautiful AND be budget-conscious, and I wanted to share what I use and how I get my deals.

Beauty on a Budget

Under-eye Concealer, Physicians Formula: I started using Physicians Formula when I was having trouble with acne, because it seemed like it was the only make-up that wouldn’t make me break out.  (Now, thanks to changing my diet and adding vitamin supplements, make-up is not a trigger!  More on that in another post.)  These little sticks run about $5-6 at CVS, and I’ve had this one for about 5 months.

Liquid Foundation, Revlon PhotoReady: Now this was one of my “I finagled a deal at CVS!” products.  Here’s the story: CVS advertised another Revlon foundation product being on sale.  But when I looked at the local store and they didn’t have it, I asked if I could substitute this product.  It retails at $13-14, but I got it for $8 – JUST because I asked for a discount!  I’ve had this for about 4 months.  You only have to use a small bit for a nice effect.

Pressed Powder, CoverGirl: I needed a simple powder to apply over the liquid foundation, to even out my face (and also because the tint of the liquid was a tad too light for my skin!).  It was about $5 at Wal-Mart without being on sale – so snag this one with a coupon AND a sale, and you’ll be dropping just a couple dollar bills.  I’ve had this about 2 months.

Eye Shadow, Revlon Illuminance Creme: This was a new purchase about a month ago, and the palette (brush not included) was about $5.24 at Target – and with a $2 manufacturer’s coupon and $1 Target coupon, it was only $2.24!  The downside with creme eye shadow is that it doesn’t last as long as the powder kind, but this was still a steal!

Mascara, Maybelline Great Lash: This is probably the cheapest mascara on the market, but I personally love the quality!  Even without a coupon, it’s reasonable ($4 or $5, depending on the store).  But of course, I bought mine with a $1 coupon!  So it was a little over $3.  Mascara lasts a long time for me, and I have probably had this for 4-5 months.

Blush, Physicians Formula: I bought this so long ago that I don’t remember how much I paid for it!  Online it retails around $12, but Physicians Formula has $1 or $2 coupons in the Sunday paper regularly and CVS regularly runs sales on the products.  I’m sure that I combined a coupon with a sale – so I’m estimating that I paid around $8 for this blush.  I’ve had it since last summer, I think.

So with all the above make-up products, I spent about $33 over the course of half a year!  Sure, it might be an ego-booster to select the latest “mineral-wear” or high-end product at Neiman Marcus, but for me, the best ego-booster is walking out of CVS or Wal-Mart with a basket full of savings!

What kind of deals have you snagged lately?

~Malori~

2 thoughts on “Financial Fridays: Beauty on a Budget

Let me know your thoughts! :)

