Military Mondays: Memorial Day 2013

“Greater love has no man than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.”

~John 15:13~

Today is Memorial Day, the day we remember all fallen warriors of our military, from all wars and conflicts in United States history.  While pop culture hi-jacks this holiday weekend for store sales, barbecue parties, and the “unofficial start of summer,” we need to set all that aside and focus on exactly why we have this vacation day.  It is so much more than having a relaxing, fun time.  The families of our fallen heroes know this the best, and the loved ones of current military servicemembers know that Memorial Day could become extremely personal in the future.

The Warrior, my dad, and I went to a Memorial Day service this morning.

The Warrior, my dad, and I went to a Memorial Day service this morning.

My family and I have been going to this for years, since I was little.  It made a big impression on me and has always been important, even before becoming connected to the military.

My family and I have been going to this for years, since I was little. It made a big impression on me and has always been important, even before becoming connected to the military.

A group of bag pipers played Amazing Grace as part of the riderless horse tribute, which is one of the most moving things I’ve ever experienced.  Hearing Amazing Grace on the bag pipes is emotional enough, but couple that with honoring our fallen heroes – I didn’t actually cry, but my throat hurt.  However, we are wise to remember the words of the renowned General George Patton, which Master of Ceremonies Keith Self quoted:

“It is foolish and wrong the mourn the men who died.  Rather, we should thank God that such men lived.”

It is natural to feel sadness when loved ones die, and it is always heartbreaking to lose one of our warriors.  But instead of becoming stuck in our sadness, we need to celebrate the lives of our heroic military members.  We need to be grateful that our country was blessed by their service, that they had the courage to give the ultimate sacrifice so that we and future generations might live in peace and liberty, in the greatest country the world has ever known.

God Bless our fallen heroes!  To you we are eternally grateful.

~Malori~

2 thoughts on “Military Mondays: Memorial Day 2013

  1. I have never heard of an event like this. And in McKinney! (I used to live in Allen!) I’m so glad y’all went and enjoyed yourself. What a great perspective you have on Memorial Day.

    • Thanks Amy…it always is a very moving service. When I was little I loved seeing the Civil War re-ennactors…once they had soldier camps set up, for both the Union and Confederate sides, and the ladies dressed in their big skirts!

Let me know your thoughts! :)

